St Killian’s won the inaugural Ulster University EOS schools hurling tournament

Ulster University EOS schools Hurling 11 a side tournament

ST KILLIAN’S, Garron Tower are the winners of the first schools’ GAA silverware of the new school year after winning the inaugural Ulster University EOS schools Hurling 11-a-side tournament held at Jordanstown.

Eight of the top hurling schools participated with the North Antrim pair of Cross and Passion, Ballycastle and St. Killian’s meeting in the final.

CPC opened well with a goal from Orann Donnelly with Conor Donnelly, Daragh Kelly and Ben O’Kane also impressing. However, as the game wore on Eoghan Richmond in goals got busier and despite his best efforts the pace of Garron Tower’s attack created gaps and goals resulted for Joseph McLaughlin (two), Oisin Woodhouse and Austin Birt.

John V Morgan impressed in goals for St Killian’s over the whole tournament with Niall Magee and Cailin Devlin in defence, Patrick McIlwaine and Austin Birt in midfield and top-scorer Joseph McLaughlin others to catch the eye.

The teams that clashed in last year’s Danske Bank Magean Cup final met in the Shield final with St. Patrick’s Maghera getting a little revenge on the Red High through a 1-7 to 0-4 victory.

The game turned when Maghera goalie Adam McLoughlin made a double save and the sliotar worked through to the other end of the field where Peadar McGuckian fired home the only goal of the game.

Other teams taking part were St Malachy’s Belfast, St Louis Ballymena, Rathmore Grammar and Our Lady’ & St Patrick’s Knock. The Danske Bank Mageean and Casement Cup competitions begin in a fortnight.

Prizes included a set of jerseys and a check for £1000 to the winning school. Tommy Joe Farrell, in making the presentations on behalf of UUJ GAA and the sponsor EOS, said he hoped that this tournament will become a permanent fixture on the Ulster schools’ GAA calendar.

Winning St Killian’s panel: John V Morgan, Aidan McSparran, Killian McNaughton, Niall Magee, Cailin Devlin, Patrick McIlwaine, Austin Birt, Orrin O’Connor, Joseph McLaughlin (capt.) Brogan O’Connor, Oisin Woodhouse, Ronan Leech, Cathan Graham, Oisin Mort


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Abbeyfeale Golf Club