Coniston Tennis Club win Barrow and District League

CONISTON Tennis Club has won the Barrow and District Tennis League for the third year in succession.

They were unbeaten throughout the season, with runners up Hawcoat Park four points behind.

Hawcoat Park actually led the table for most of the campaign, however, the season swung on a remarkable 8-1 victory over the Barrow club up on Coniston courts. Broughton completed a satisfactory season in third place, led by Pavel Hanys, they will be striving to make a genuine title challenge come next season

The ‘Villagers’ welcomed Mike Code and captain Jeff Atkinson back after being missing through injury, alongside new star Roger Kuhlman from Ingleton. This was young Richard Byle’s first full season and he formed a partnership with Code, while Nick Walls remained unbeaten in all his matches.

The evergreen John Bell and Peter Helme proved invaluable whenever called on, while Steve Bushell, Dan Johnson and the captain also contributed vital points during the campaign.

As Coniston celebrates their sixth Barrow league title in the last ten years, the reigning county champions can reflect on an astonishing decade that has elevated the little village club from relative obscurity to now at the forefront of the tennis map.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Abbeyfeale Golf Club